I GOT MY DRINK AND MY 250+ STEP!!!!!!

That title is SO false. But it’s so clever that I had to share it! I’m glad my brain still functions enough to think of clever things because it is NOT functioning well for step studying. I am so frustrated because I KNOW that I know a lot of this stuff but I just cannot connect the dots. I was going to write a long post that was mostly bitching, but then decided not to because I hate whining. BUT, suffice it to say that LIFE SUCKS A LOT RIGHT NOW and I have NEVER been so frustrated with studying. Ok Done.

During my study breaks I always go to this site www.foodgawker.com. It has the BEST pictures of food ever from different blogs that submit their pictures. One day, maybe soon, after I figure out how to take good pictures, I’ll submit mine!! I was DDxing for a LONG time on what to make. I decided I should make something good for breakfast so I can actually stay awake and alert in the morning.

I have been getting up at 6am and I reach a lull around 10 so I decided to make some HIGH ENERGY FOOD: Muesli. I am obsessed with muesli. I went to Australia 2 summers ago with my brother and I think I ate it for 2 meals a day. Its so filling and it has the perfect combination of sweet and salty flavors. Plus, I love toasted nuts. They’re one of those things that are so subtle that you might not even appreciate it…but they really add texture and a smoky flavor and are way better than just throwing in raw nuts. I also added raisins, dried cranberries, and fresh blueberries to it.

Finally, I had it with vanilla almond milk (which is not real milk but still tastes really good anyway). I absolutely LOVE this stuff. I drink it for snacks all the time. I don’t think it has any nutritional value but its SO DAMN good. This was WAY better than granola and healthier. I’m probably going to make this a million more times (I have a problem with getting addicted to things).

Here is the recipe (adapted from http://5secondrule.typepad.com)

Makes 4 cups

1 cup whole unsalted almonds
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups rye flakes
1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1/4 cup oat bran
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup dried whole cranberries
1/4 cup fresh blueberries
Vanilla almond milk, for serving

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Lay the almonds on a rimmed baking sheet and drizzle with the oil and salt.  Use one clean hand to rub the oil and salt into the nuts.

Spread the rye flakes and rolled oats on a second rimmed baking sheet.

Place both baking sheets in the preheated oven. Bake for about 15 minutes

Scrape the toasted nuts and grains into a large serving bowl and add the bran and dried/fresh fruit.  Serve warm, with milk

I can’t wait until my next post (which will probably be after step- like immediately after) because I’m going to make something I’ve been thinking about for like 6 months! SO STAY TUNED! And T-11 days until life gets amazingly better!

One thought on “I GOT MY DRINK AND MY 250+ STEP!!!!!!

  1. You should check out tastespotting.com also. Similar to foodgawker, but considered more difficult to have your submissions accepted, although they do overlap quite a bit.

Leave a comment